CHARLESTON AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY



WHAT IS CHATS?

CHATS, the Charleston Area Transportation Study, is the ongoing process of monitoring and reviewing the Charleston urbanized area's transportation system, and the planning of facilities and services to meet the area's transportation needs for years to come.

The process is based on a plan developed between 1965 and 1968 following a detailed study of the transportation needs of the area. The plan was updated in 1975 and again in the fall of 1983 to carry it forward to the year 2000. Activities have been underway the last several years to evaluate and update the plan for all transportation modes (highway, bicycle, pedestrian and public transit).

WHAT AREA DOES CHATS COVER?

Presently, CHATS covers about 800 square miles. Generally, the area includes all of the land expected to be urbanized within twenty years. Portions of Dorchester County (Summerville and the surrounding area), Berkeley County (the Goose Creek/Hanahan area and Daniel Island) and Charleston County (from Mt. Pleasant south to Wadmalaw Island) are included.

HOW IS CHATS ORGANIZED?

In 1977, Governor James B. Edwards (according to joint FHWA-UMTA regulations) designated the CHATS Policy Committee as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester urban area. At the same time, the Governor decided that the technical programming and planning functions of the CHATS MPO would be performed by the Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments, in cooperation with the S.C. Department of Transportation. In 1979, Governor Richard W. Riley designated the City of Charleston as the recipient of Federal Transit Administration capital funds for the CHATS MPO.

WHAT IS THE CHATS POLICY COMMITTEE?

The CHATS Policy Committee is the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester urban area and is the forum for local decision making concerning transportation policies and priorities. It is composed principally of elected officials from the governments within the study area. The Policy Committee is responsible for the continuing review of the CHATS program and for insuring that the transportation plan is functionally sound, financially feasible and in conformance with the goals and objectives of the state, region, and local communities. The Policy Committee also provides the direction and leadership necessary to implement the plan.



CHATS POLICY COMMITTEE



The following information is current as of **March 2024**. However, the information changes throughout the year. For the most current list of members please refer to the list posted on our website.

OFFICERS

Herb Sass - Chairman Christie Rainwater - Vice Chairman

o 96

BERKELEY COUNTY GOVERNMENT

- John Cribb PO Box 6122 Moncks Corner, SC 29461 (843) 723-3800
- Daniel Thrower PO Box 6122 Moncks Corner, SC 29461 (843) 723-3800

BERKELEY COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

• **Rep. Sylleste Davis** 414A Blatt Building Columbia, SC 29201 (803) 734-6930

CHARLESTON COUNTY COUNCIL

- Teddie Pryor 2700 Crestline Drive North Charleston, SC 29405 (843) 958-4030
- Herb Sass 413 Hobcaw Drive Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464 (843) 766-7500
- Joe Boykin 4674 Chisolm Road Johns Island, SC 29455 Tel. (843) 214-0337

CHARLESTON COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

- **Rep. Deon Tedder** 4917 Center Point Drive N. Charleston, SC 29418 (843) 577-5530
- Rep. Leon Stavrinakis 1 Cool Blow Street, Suite 201 Charleston, SC 29403 (843) 724-1060
- **Rep. Tom Hartnett** 8220 O'Sullivan Drive Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464 (843) 270-2915
- Sen. Chip Campsen 360 Concord Street, Suite 201 Charleston, SC 29401 (843) 886-8454
- Sen. Larry Grooms 148 Etiwan Park Street Charleston, SC 29492 (843) 825-4671

DORCHESTER COUNTY COUNCIL

• **S. Todd Friddle** 500 N. Main Street - Suite 2 Summerville, SC 29483 Tel. (843) 805-2258

CHATS POLICY COMMITTEE



• Harriet Holman 201 Johnson Street St. George, SC 29477 (843) 444-6563

DORCHESTER COUNTY LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION

• Sen. Sean Bennett 121 S. Cedar Street Summerville, SC 2983 (843) 821-3009

SC PORTS AUTHORITY

• Barbara Melvin PO Box 22287 Charleston, SC 29413-2286 (843) 577-8600

CHARLESTON COUNTY AVIATION AUTHORITY

• Hernan Pena 5500 International Boulevard, #101 Charleston, SC 29418 (843) 767-7000

CARTA

• Mike Seekings PO Box 22501 Charleston, SC 29413 (843) 364-8583

JOINT BASE CHARLESTON

• Todd Martin 628th Civil Engineering Squadron 210 West Stewart Avenue Charleston AFB, SC 29404-4827

SC TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

• Matt Thompson PO Box 63535 Charleston, SC 29419 (843) 572-0581

NORFOLK SOUTHERN RAILROAD

Vacant

BERKELEY COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Vacant

CHARLESTON COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

• Eric Adams (non-voting) 4045 Bridge View Drive Charleston, SC 29405 (843) 745-2207

DORCHESTER COUNTY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

• Webb Charpia (non-voting) 310 N. Gum Street - Suite B Summerville, SC 29483 (843) 261-7026

FIRST CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

• Cong. Nancy Mace 212 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20515 (202) 228-3176

SIXTH CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

• Cong. James Clyburn 1225 Lady Street, Suite 200 Columbia, SC 29201 (803) 799-1100



CHATS POLICY COMMITTEE



SC DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

• **T.J. Johnson** SCDOT Commisioner Ist Congressional District P.O. Box 191 Columbia, SC 29202 (803) 737-0013

CITY OF CHARLESTON

- Mayor William Cogswell 80 Broad Street Charleston, SC 29401 (843) 724-3737
- Karl Brady 80 Broad Street Charleston, SC 29401 (843) 724-3728
- Kevin Shealy 1600 Dotterer's Run Charleston, SC 29414 (843) 442-6680

CITY OF NORTH CHARLESTON

- Mayor Reginald "Reggie"
 Burgess
 PO Box 190016
 North Charleston, SC 29419
 (843) 740-1085
- Kenneth Skipper 5486 King Indigo Court North Charleston, SC 29418 (843) 200-7520
- Dr. Charmaine Palmer-Roberts PO Box 50551 North Charleston, SC 29485 (843) 819-9170

TOWN OF MT. PLEASANT

- Mayor Will Haynie 100 Ann Edwards Lane Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464 (843) 884-8517
- Howard Chapman 100 Ann Edwards Lane Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464 (843) 209-0399
- Corl Ritchie 100 Ann Edwards Lane Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464 (843) 209-0399

CITY OF ISLE OF PALMS

• Mayor Phillip Pounds 1207 Palm Boulevard Isle of Palms, SC 29451 (704) 517-0043

TOWN OF SULLIVAN'S ISLAND

• Mayor Pat O'Neil 1738 Thompson Avenue Sullivan's Island, SC 29482 (843) 883-9266

CITY OF FOLLY BEACH

• Mayor Timothy Goodwin PO Box 48 Folly Beach, SC 29439 (843) 588-2447

CITY OF GOOSE CREEK

• Mayor Greg Habib PO Box 1768 Goose Creek, SC 29445 (843) 797-6220

o 98



CHATS POLICY COMMITTEE



• Debra Green-Fletcher PO Box 1768 Goose Creek, SC 29445 (843) 797-6220

TOWN OF SEABROOK ISLAND

• Mayor John W. Gregg 2001 Seabrook Island Road Seabrook Island, SC 29455 (843) 768-5320

TOWN OF JAMES ISLAND

• Mayor Bill Woolsey 1238-B Camp Road James Island, SC 29412 (843) 762-7744

TOWN OF LINCOLNVILLE

• Mayor Enoch Dickerson, Ill PO Box 536 Lincolnville, SC 29485 (843) 873-3261

CITY OF HANAHAN

• Mayor Christie Rainwater 1255 Yeamans Hall Road Hanahan, SC 29410 (843) 554-4221

TOWN OF KIAWAH ISLAND

Vacant

TOWN OF SUMMERVILLE

- Mayor Russ Touchberry 200 S. Main Street Summerville, SC 29483 (843) 871-7379
- Terry Jenkins 200 S. Main Street Summerville, SC 29483 (843) 200-9096

TOWN OF MONCKS CORNER

• Mayor Thomas Hamilton PO Box 700 Moncks Corner, SC 29461 (843) 934-8621



